Tuesday, 17 February 2009

The London List No.9

With the draw for the F.A Cup Quarter Finals made this week (and with four London sides still in the hat), L.W Blog looks back on the capital’s first five winners of the world’s most famous domestic soccer competition.

The First Five London F.A Cup Winners
1. Wanderers* (1871/72, 1872/73, 1875/76 – 1877/78)
2. Clapham Rovers (1879/80)
3. Tottenham Hotspur (1900/01, 1920/21)
4. Arsenal (1929/30, 1935/36)
5. Charlton Athletic (1946/47)
* Wanderers were based in Battersea

(If you’d like to see where the F.A. Cup Final was played between 1895 and 1911, go with Adam on his Crystal Palace walk next month.)

TODAY’S WALKS & NEWS: www.walks.com

No comments:

Post a Comment